Unmistakably German

There are many German tourists in Stockholm and you can easily recognize them even from a few meters distance. And not only because you can already hear them talking (but this might be one of the supporting aspects, yes). There is a certain form of outer appearance that goes beyond Jack Wolfskin jackets that reveals their nationality, believe me.

I really try not to be like this! And I thought that I maybe had adapted a bit of the Swedish but I realised that I’m far more German than I want to be. I stop at red traffic lights (I’m working on that point. Feels so exciting each time I cross the road without waiting for the green!). I part my bread slices into two and put them onto each other. And when they offered a lot of guided city tours with different topics last week I decided for “Fika” and “Astrid Lindgren” – the probably most Sweden-loving-German topics of all. Well, at least I didn’t take the “ABBA”-Walk. It was offered in English – I was afraid of too many German tourists there.

Leave a Reply

